How to create a creative application letter?

1-DSC_0015Do you know those days when you want to be a bit against the grain? It’s not that I like London more than Paris today, but I just want to write something different . No bakeries, bookstores or facts about the Parisian subway, today I’ll give you a lesson in how to create a creative application letter :)

With all the choices these days, it’s hard to figure out what job you want or which direction you want to go to. Did you finally find your dream job, you have to make an application letter to get that precious job interview!

Yay, the application letter… That’s the point where most people are getting insecure. How to stand out between all the hundreds of other applicants? One word: creativity. Just think out of your comfort zone and create something different than a letter typed in Word (Ariel, font size 10) Self expression, motivation and personal touches… it’s all in your following application!

Where to start? Many companies do their application process online, what makes it even harder to create a creative application letter. It always works the same way: application letter in the mail and the curriculum vitae in the Annex. How boring?!

Have you every thought about making a whole website as an application letter? You can make a video on the homepage to show your motivation, write a blog post about the skills you have and show them with your online portfolio the experience you already have. Nothing is too crazy as you keep it in one style. Make sure you don’t make your stories too wordy and keep the website clean. Use websites as WordPress, Tumblr or Blogspot to get a free user friendly website! To make your application website even more interesting, show them why belong in their team. Let people leave a positive comment behind. Think of previous bosses or former teachers (only recommended if you’ve been a really good boy or girl!) 

If you’re not that good with websites (or computers ;), use your hands. Find some things that you find interesting and get started! Before I knew that I was going to college this year, I made ​​an application for the company My Little Paris. It was my biggest dream (and still is) to work there for a while. I’m not French, don’t live in Paris, and yet I wanted to work there and compete with those who stood 10 strokes before me. I’ve done my best to create something unique and it worked. I’ve got their attention and interest… ‘unfortunately’ I went to college and eventually the whole application ended in nothing. But it was worth it because I learned to think out-of-the-box and I now have a good example to help others ;)

Never forget to use your own imagination, you have more creativity than you think!

Sweet dreams everyone or a really good morning ♥

2 thoughts on “How to create a creative application letter?

Leave a Reply

