Oldest English bookstore in Paris, Galignani.

So many books, so little time…we all have been there. Why don’t we just escape for an evening? A whole evening, enjoying every minute we have. Alone, but not entirely. Just you, thousands of books and a few other books lovers who also left a note on their dinner table with ”don’t look for me, I’m more than fine”.

*Sight*, Galignani. Have you ever been at such a elegant and classy bookstore as this one? Perhaps, but also in Paris? The rolling ladders gave me the feeling as if I had landed in old romantic story. Too bad that didn’t happen, because my mother was standing next to me instead of a handsome man holding my books…(sorry mom). The wooden bookshelves and Christmas decorations created a cozy feeling, but the decorated ceiling made the bookstore complete. What a wonderful place to be. All the books asked for my attention. Pick me, pick me!
Galignani 2Galignani is the oldest English bookstore in Paris. It has been run by six generations of the Galignani family. They say that ”Librairie Galignani is a place where books are not mere products meant to be sold, but rather precious objects of wisdom and aesthetic delight”. Yeah, those are wise words huh?  Are you looking for a particular book or topic? Please do not hesitate to ask because at Galignani only work knowledgeable and very friendly staff.
Galignani

A fun fact about Galignani is that they change their window displays every 15 days. They make sure it’s filled with actual books belonging to cultural events or topics.

You can visit Galignani at: 224, rue de Rivoli – 75001 Paris. Or visit their website 

Sweet dreams everyone or a really good morning ♥

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Oldest English bookstore in Paris, Galignani.

  1. While it has charm, I lost my heart in Shakespeare and Company! Of course it has nothing to do with the fact that they have my first collection of poems in The Poets Corner! :) Actually, Shakespeare and Co. is an amazing place on numerous levels.

  2. Pingback: Wear your seatbellt. It’s going to be a creative ride! | World of Paris

Leave a Reply

