The Paris Syndrome.

Trash system in ParisYes, it exist. Do I have it? Absolutely not, I’m more the opposite ;)

What is the Paris Syndrome? It’s a serious psychological disorder and most common in the Japanese population. In some cases it’s so severe that people succumb to it.

We all make jokes about the Japanese people with their camera’s,  who really photograph everything. Nothing negative, they are just fascinating to watch. My French teacher told me a story when she had visited the Louvre. When she wanted to leave the building, she got stuck between a large group of Japanese people, in the middle of a normal staircase. She wondered what was so special.. NOTHING. They were photographing the ceiling what was nothing more than a white surface…

In many cases, they saved their whole life for a dream trip to Paris. They have a magical idea of it, without imperfections. Clean streets, romantic adventures and surrounded by friendly and polite people. Everything exactly like in the movies or in commercials spots of famous perfume brands. Paris is the paradise and if you’ve been there… you can die peacefully.  

I’m crazy about Paris, but I also accept the imperfections of it. I mean, there are plenty of things that could be better. It’s a big city in a modern time. The streets in Paris are also full of dirt and also here is the air unhealthy. Unfortunately but yes, there are rude waiters and certainly not everyone is always helpful, but in Paris it’s more than normal. When they realize that the reality of Paris doesn’t match their dreams, it’s hard to get over it. They just can’t handle the big culture shock. Several symptoms of the Paris Syndrome are: delusional states, hallucinations, actions because they feel like a victim (aggression etc.), anxiety, dizziness, sweating, crying, but especially the powerlessness feeling is difficult to deal with.

FYI: The Paris syndrome affects 10 to 20 people each year. The Japanese embassy has a 24-hour hotline that is accessible to absorb those with the Paris Syndrom. I would recommend my blog to the other people who aren’t able to call a hotline. Send me an e-mail and I’ll make sure you’re going to find the beauty of Paris! 

 

 

5 thoughts on “The Paris Syndrome.

  1. I’m Paris-bound (first stop is Ireland and later Barcelona) later this year. I don’t care how rude the waiters are or how stupid we Americans appear – (I’ve tried repeatedly to learn foreign languages – 3 years of Spanish – nada – two attempts at French 101 – I can’t remember the nouns!) but I do know better than to expect the local population to know my language. I am trying – reading conversational French – but I know Je sais I will be swimming upstream here. I’m renting a teeeeeny tiny apartment because it has a terrace! None of the negative matters because it will be PARIS!

    • Glad you think about it that way, it’s way more fun to enjoy a city if you can ignore the imperfections. It’s cool that you try to learn the language, they will appreciate it for sure. Have fun out there :)

Leave a Reply

