Best croissants in Paris – Poilâne

PoilaneLe pain est le tuteur de la vie.
J. Smith, (1667-1745)

Sorry for the delay of my blog post, normally I blog around midnight but something came between. I promised you in my previous post to tell you more about the best croissants in Paris, which can be bought at Poilâne. But I don’t want to stop there. That would be a disgrace for the history, craft and passion of the wonderful bread they sell at Poilâne.

‘The best croissants in Paris’ is a beautiful title but won’t last forever. The bread on the other hand – goes for years. I won’t bore you with the whole history (which is quite interesting to read yourself, click here) of the store but, to quickly make my point clear: in 1932, when monsieur Poilâne opened his first shop , there were 5 bakeries on rue du cherche-midi, today, there is only 1. Doesn’t that say enough about the delicious bread?

When I was photographing the store, I was called by a Parisienne how great the bakery was (she had just bought an apple dumpling for on the way). She told me that she always stops when she is near. ‘Pure craft’ she said, for 3 generations long. Grandfather, father and now the daughter has taken over. Outside the store you can smell the aroma of fresh bread and the finest ingredients. I could’t stay any longer outside! 

The thing I really enjoyed about this little bakery (besides the products) was that they calculated everything with pen and paper. No expensive equipment’s! Very friendly and nice old-fashioned. It seemed like you just went back in time.

Take a look at their website http://www.poilane.com/. It gives you a nice view of their history, products and shops :) Enjoy! 

4 thoughts on “Best croissants in Paris – Poilâne

    • No, normally not at all. Most Parisians don’t speak that good English. In this case, I think they made that decission because Poilâne also have 2 shops in London ;)

  1. Pingback: Wear your seatbellt. It’s going to be a creative ride! | World of Paris

Leave a Reply

