Weekly Photo Challenge – Beginnings

BeginningWe all have dreams. Dreams that are realistic and dreams that are unrealistic. But I wonder, at what point becomes your dream an ‘unrealistic dream’? Is it when your parents say ‘that’s nothing for you’ or when your best friend laughs in your face ‘hahaha LOL, you’re never gonna reach that’. I can think of a thousand negative reactions but in the end it’s your own decision. Unfortunately, we listen too much to the influence from the outside..

That’s why I choose this sign to be my ‘Weekly Photo Challenge’ – Beginnings. You can find these street signs everywhere in Paris and in the rest of Europe. You may call it modern artwork (with humor) made by the Italy-based French artist, Clet Abraham. 

If other people tell you to STOP, break through! Listen to your own mind, your own feelings and go the direction you want. I’m not telling you to ignore a traffic sign ;) but to be the person you want to be. I have always been myself and I’m really proud of that. But, I also know that I have looked too many times at other persons and made some mistakes because of that.You can’t be a person everyone likes so STOP DOING THAT! It’s a new year, it’s time for a new beginning. I hate the slogan YOLO (you only live once) but it’s true. You only get one chance to be happy. It’s time to make important decisions, get your life back on track and look how can you accomplish your goals.

When I told my French teacher I wanted to make a website about Paris she said: what will you accomplish with that? There are too many of it. You expect support from the teacher you look up too. Not gonna happen. Well, hey look at me, I made it and I’m not even finished! I’m different than the other Paris blogs, I have my own stories and experiences to tell and people love to read it. 2014 is my year to start over. I take care of my own success and I hope to send my french teacher this year my own Paris travel guide!

What about you, do you live the life you want or is 2014 also for you a new beginning?

Click here if you want to read more about the traffic signs from Clet Abraham.

20 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge – Beginnings

  1. Life is too short and negativity is not conducive to life or creativity! If you are at all intuitive, trust it. It will take you where you need to be. Mine did! :)

  2. I love your attitude and your blog! My daughter is going to be an exchange student to France next year. Is that what you’re doing or are just just visiting or what? I was wondering if you could tell me more about these signs. I don’t understand what it is trying to say.

    • and I like your compliments, thank you very much!
      Good choice that your daughter is going to study in France, she will have an amazing time :) I’m not (yet) an exchange student but I have a long distance relationship with Paris. Well, I’m living in the Netherlands so it’s not that far away. I’m trying to get there as much as possible.

      I would love to tell you more about the signs, they are really cool! Clet Abraham wanted to give another meaning to the street signs, like a political, religious or humorous meaning. It’s important to him to respect and not to ‘ruin’ the cities like most graffiti artists. That’s why his stickers are ‘easily’ removable. He calls street-art his hobby. His street-art signs don’t have a very deep thought, that’s what I like the most about it. It depends on the sign, most of them are just for joy!

      He is a creative artist and I’m a new fan of him.
      If you ever going to visit Florence, you can visit his studio in Via dell’Olmo, 8r in the San Niccoló neighborhood. You can buy little stickers and see his work! Oh and he also has a Facebook page haha: https://www.facebook.com/pages/CLET/108974755823172.

      • So, are you saying that he STICKS these on top of regular street signs? That would be illegal in the U.S.

        And do you know what the one you featured in your blog is trying to communicate? Chiseling a face into that white rectangle?

        Are you from the Netherlands?

      • Yes he does. I’m not sure if it’s totally legal here too! Most cities don’t care that much about the stickers other cities are removing them more quickly.

        At his Facebook page he post all the stickers with quotes above them, to explain his thoughts and inspiration. The quote about my sign says: ‘Who is lead by the fear takes a whole world under control, who do you dare try to improve it. – A sculptor.

        and yes, I’m from the Netherlands. A blogger born in the wrong city ;)

      • Oh, I see, so the stickers don’t really have anything to do with traffic control or giving information. I couldn’t read the info on the facebook page since it’s in French. Thanks!

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Beginning | Stefan Praetorius Naurin

  4. Pingback: Beginning #photography #newyear #nature | Moondustwriter's Blog

  5. Pingback: Rue du cherche-midi, Paris | World of Paris

Leave a Reply

